Return to Headlines

Sherman ISD to Host Fifth Annual Chef Competition

Culinary Arts students from Sherman High School will compete in the fifth annual Lone Star Chef Competition on Wednesday, January 30, 2019, at 11:00 am. The event is hosted by Sherman ISD and Aramark and will be held in the high school cafeteria.

Sherman High School will have five teams that will create a meal within the National School Lunch Program guidelines. Each team will have 30 minutes to craft a dish using an assortment of foods and three mystery ingredients. The recipes will be judged by a panel of community members based on food presentation, use of mystery ingredients, and additional criteria set by Aramark. 

The first place team from Sherman High School will advance to compete against other finalists from throughout the state of Texas at Minute Maid Park in Houston, TX. The winning recipe from the finals will be added to the Aramark K-12 menus, and the winning team will receive a scholarship award.

Judges for the Sherman High School chef competition will be City of Sherman Mayor David Plyler, Sherman ISD School Board President Tim Millerick, City of Sherman Council Member Daron Holland, KXII News Anchor Maureen Kane, Texas Roadhouse General Manager Chelsa Hernandez, and Sherman High School Assistant Principal Robert Goff.

The Sherman ISD Lone Star Chef Competition will feature the following student teams:

The Trio

Addison Watson

Leo Bautista

Gloria Arias

The Gouda Life

Ragan Zachary

Cade Carney

Monty Orum     

Red Hot Chili Preppers

Natanael Olquin

Jaden Monaghan

Maria Lara

Smoke Daddy’s

Keyera Cox

Elijah John

Connie Rosa


Bailey Kuhn

Haley Klas

Robert Callejas


For additional information about the Lone Star Chef Competition, please contact the Sherman ISD Communications Department.


Kimberly Simpson